jump to navigation

Portfolio Allocation – Made Some Moves February 27, 2008

Posted by pf in Expenses and Savings, Portfolio Allocation.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback

I finally acted on some of the portfolio allocations I had been considering the last couple of months. Of course, as is often the case, I wish I had gone ahead and made them sooner! In doing so, I actually made an unplanned allocation, which was to T Rowe Price Health Sciences (PRHSX). I had owned this fund in the past and dropped it at some point (do not recall the exact reasons, but suspect it was to allow me to allocate more to International funds). Longer term, I think being invested in the Health Sciences (ie drug makers, biotech, etc) is a sound investment (risks due universal healthcare, etc not withstanding).

Overall, my approach was to take some of the monies I had invested in my moderate allocation fund (PRWCX), which weathered the recent downturn fairly well, and push it into some other funds where I did not feel I had enough exposure.

Although I won’t know the exact %s until after today’s close, here is a rough approximation:

1) ADDED Latin America (PRLAX) to my portfolio – I expect this to be around 6%. My target is actually 5%, but went ahead with a slightly higher % right now for the following reasons:

– Ease: I won’t be making regular investments in this fund throughout the year, and so the 6% will gradually be reduced due to additional contributions to my other investments. Basically, I want to stay between 5-6% and not have to mess around with rebalancing too much

– Asset Location: I used existing monies from one of our Roth IRAs to create this new position with the idea that the Latin America fund will generate higher returns over time and thus reduce my eventual tax burden versus the alternative investment. Coincidentally, the amount needed was so close to what I already had in there (invested in PRWCX), I just swapped the whole thing.

Asset Location for Tax-Efficiency

2) ADDED Health Sciences (PRHSX) – this is a pretty straightforward swap from one of my existing IRAs invested in PRWCX. I think this should end up around 6% after today’s close. Again, a bit higher than my target of 5%, but I don’t intend to make any additional contributions here, so it will gradually come down.

3) INCREASED International Equity (PIEQX) – I added ~1% to get it to 10% of my portfolio. Just a little tidying up. Again, I pulled it from PRWCX.

4) DECREASED Capital Appreciation (PRWCX) – Overall, I must have drawn my portolio allocation here by 10-12%. This will put me UNDER my target of at least 10% for this fund, but I’ll get it back in line over the coming months.

5) ADDED American Funds Growth Fund (RGAEX) – I will discontinue my contributions to Dodge & Cox (DODGX) for now and start building a position here. Ultimately, my intention is to replace my current investments in the TRP Growth Fund (PRGFX) with this one which has a slightly lower expense ratio and slightly better historical performance.

In the next few days, I’ll post the my updated portfolio with the latest changes.

Comments»

1. Portfolio Allocation - More Moves « My Personal Finance Odyssey - March 2, 2008

[…] roth ira, savings, T Rowe Price, TRAMX, TRP trackback Earlier this week, I made some change to my Portfolio Allocation. I’m starting to get this strange feeling of being a bit out of control. I have been […]

2. Net Worth - Feb 2008 « My Personal Finance Odyssey - March 2, 2008

[…] Modified my Portfolio Allocation […]

marcus anthony bynum - April 28, 2012

aside from boosting the country’s external payments position to serve as buffer to external shocks, ofw remittances that accounted for about nine percent of gross domestic product (gdp) continued to be a major contributor in economic growth through higher consumption… and have recent data from the philippine overseas employment administration (poea)….ab 7521391 d— cb 7580471 j—-fk 52877777 b — jl 84451362 b— l 31430472 g—-….

marcus anthony bynum - April 28, 2012

the natural gas field fuels three power plants with a combined capacity of 2,700 mw equivalent to about 36 percent of luzons power generation requirements

3. marcus anthony bynum - May 4, 2012

dimensions (lxwxh) 11 x 8.25 x 22/ 274x 208 x 555mm weight 14 lbs/ 6.3 kg… do not desire his delicacies, for they are a man given … business property for rent 510 great alternative steel building reduced factory inventory 30x 36

marcus anthony bynum - May 18, 2012

facebook is now in big business with nasdaq … today is a good day … facebook is worth now 100 billion ……

4. marcus anthony bynum - January 24, 2015

i went to santa Barbara and now know more or just forgot about the Montecito and carpinteria.. explore the neighboring communities of Montecito but the question is , how much currency is spent through the santa Barbara waterfront, and the downtown platform from santa Barbara train station, to the mtd bus line 20 or 21x, upon arrival , step onto the seaside electric shuttle to see the sights…you can also visit the santa Barbara historic sites el presidio state historic park, featuring restored fort , quarters and chapel, discover more details at the santa historic museum…..by the santabarbaracarfree.org….

5. marcus anthony bynum - January 24, 2015

looking at the Barclays property reinsurance rates could weaken further in January 2014 news that goes on from u.s/ European insurance….by Barclays London with analyst certification… also to check out zurich insurance group ag from underlying to the bottom line…equity research financial services / European insurance… stabilizing earnings.. zurn.vx financial and valuation metrics usd…

6. marcus anthony bynum - October 7, 2015

develop talent. One of the ways business leaders can invest in employees is giving them opportunities early in their careers to lead projects. So notes Luciana amaro, a vice president at a chemical company BASF….

7. marcus anthony bynum - October 7, 2015

Go back to school .. A master of business administration is just one result of programs that help company remains innovative…

8. marcus anthony bynum - December 4, 2015

I looked at the sector leaders review from the investors business daily paper by Juan carlos arancibia… About half the sector leaders stocks broke out in the past few weeks, but the results of those normally bullish moves have been mixed..Lithia motors is doing reasonably well two days after it crossed the 122.11 buy point of an irregular pattern. An alternative entry at 112.11.. Paycoms chart is uncertain, to say at least . An October 16 breakout failed quickly. Then a strong earnings report sent shares to new highs…

9. marcus anthony bynum - October 22, 2016

The sultans successors …In 1941 , In Egypt , a young british soldier and his fellow tommies received a word of advice from a fatherly old sergent – major at their military camp ..Traffics very chaotic in cairo – so , if you happen to knock down a wog , stop and back over him and finish him off . It’s much the best thing to do .. The british will pay compensation to his widow – more than she would ever earn in a hundred years… It save a lot of form- filling ….And then the calm has returned to financial markets , which have also shrugged off the threat arising from the u.ks vote to leave the EU in the brexit referendum … Perhaps because the peoples bank of china has become a little more transparent about it’s policy regime for the renminbi, the slide of about 7 percent in the chinese currency on a trade weighted basis since the beginning of the year has not provoked much reaction from international investors or indeed politicians…. A message for all investors tap the power of chart insights…You want to earn some extra money …You are intrigued about the stock market . You are a big fan of netflix , and its amazing shows… Good Noe consider this if you follow companies whose products or services are loved by your friends and family members , you definitely are on to something you may know about the product than anyone on wall street …… Another oil meeting Getting down to deals details … Top OPEC and non- OPEC producers are meeting in Istanbul to begin discussing how to implement a production and cut an agreement which could last a year…The gathering started this weekend of oct 10 2016 … and is scheduled to last through Thursday … Any details or lack thereof could provide hints on how realistic the output agreement is has already come under major skepticism ……


Leave a Reply

