jump to navigation

Black Friday and Cyber Monday November 26, 2007

Posted by pf in Expenses and Savings.
trackback

All of the financial news outlets are buzzing about the strong traffic for retailers this past weekend and hoping for record breaking online sales today.  As far as I remember, I don’t think I have ever participated in this shopping hysteria.  In fact, as I began writing this, I thought of one particular time I had, but then confirmed with my wife that the sale I was thinking of was after Christmas.  It was a few months before we would be moving into our new house and we wanted to buy a Christmas tree on sale to have it for next year.  We got up at crazy o’clock in the morning to grab one of the trees that would be on sale at one of those stores where the only time you visit are when you are looking for holiday stuff or swimming pool gear (you know what I’m talking about).

You would only be partially correct in assuming that I don’t do much of that shopping anyway (I don’t) and that my wife must be the one who stands in those obscene lines…she does not.    Why is this?  

1) Other than stuff for our children, we don’t buy that much at Christmas.  In fact, the present exchange between my wife and I is extremely painful during this time.  Neither of us really “wants” anything. 

2)  If I wanted it, I already bought it!  I don’t need Christmas as an excuse to buy something.  If there is something I want, I will do the research, find or negotiate the best price possible and go get it.  The only thing I can think of where I delay a purchase is for things like a new baseball cap (and of course big purchases like a car or a house)…so my wife can give me something for Christmas (see #1 above).

3) I prefer to shop with people who are in a semi-sane state.  With all the reports of people being trampled and even shot, I am just not that interested…although having the experience itself is a bit attractive to the extreme sports side of me.

Honestly, except for our children, we just don’t buy that many “things”.  That is not to say we don’t spend money as we most certainly do (eating out being the biggest variable expense we have), but certainly not too much on anything that would require my comatose presence in the wee hours of the morning with a throng of shopping hungry peeps.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

