jump to navigation

Stock Market Timing…Resisting the Urge April 24, 2007

Posted by pf in Expenses and Savings.
trackback

It has been written over and over that trying to time the market is a fool’s game that almost everyone loses. However, I have been getting this weird sense that we are at one of those peaks and we are in store for one of those “summer swoons”.

I try to tell myself (talking to himself – not a good sign) that I should just “stay the course” as I have been for many years (and have generally been rewarded for doing so).  At the same time, there is another voice (oh, he’s hearing voices now – really not good) that is telling me to follow my intuition and reduce my exposure in some of my more volatile investments (example: emerging markets) for something a bit less so (ex: capital appreciation).

Ok, so other than my intuition, what signs are giving me these signals?  I can name a few:

  • General instability in the world – Iran, Iraq, and renewed attacks on Israel
  • Volatile energy markets
  • Buffet is 20% cash
  • Greenspan talk of 2007 recession (although he took it back, I still think he meant it)
  • US housing market decline include issues with sub-prime
  • Stock market’s long, positive run over the last several years
  • Dow almost at all time high

Granted, all of these issues are not new and despite that, the markets have gone up.  However, where is the inflection point where the perceived risks start to outweigh the potential rewards?  Ie – how much higher can this thing go?

What’s also interesting to me is that when I had a much smaller portfolio, I didn’t really care what happened, because even when it got bad, I would most likely lose less than $10K.  As my portflio has grown, some recent gains and losses have equaled $2000-$3000 in a single day and a 10% drop would be more than $20,000.   

So, what does this mean?  Is my portfolio to risky for my appetitite?  I really don’t think so.  Do I want to beat the market?  Surely…doesn’t everyone?  Am I becoming more fearful about potential losses versus potential gains?  Yes, I think combined with my desire to outsmart the market, I am getting to the point where I don’t see as much upside in the near term and am feeling like I should do something.

So, will I do “something”?  I don’t know yet. I very well may take some of the gains I’ve made in emerging markets and hope for a fall where I get in again at a lower price point.  Alternatively, I may continue to do nothing and stay the course.  Does anyone else struggle with this or is the answer so obvious, tried and true that it’s not even given a thought?

Comments»

1. Re: money - May 2, 2007

All I have to say is “Ditto!” I’ve been feeling the same way about the market:
– Is it too high?
– Or should I just take the plunge and carry out my long-term investment plans? Afterall, if you do it for the long-term, there’s no reason to worry about short term losses, right?

I’ve decided to wait until fall for the big stuff, and play with the small stuff until then.

2. pf - May 3, 2007

While I generally agree with your sentiment about the long term vs the short term, I struggle with the idea of taking losses when I feel like the likelihood is so high. So, as you may have seen from my later post, I decided to act. Based upon my research, the fall is when you are supposed to get back in…summer is the historical time period for the drop. Let me know if you decide to do anything significant. Good luck!

3. marcus anthony bynum - January 24, 2012

open your swiss bank account for non resident. these accounts can be very useful for foreign persons seeking to do business in the us with no physical presence. management and technical assistance government contracting .the scientology community around. i was ashamed and humiliated . they will , however, become subject to him, so that they may learn the difference between serving me and serving the kings of other lands. prepare work instructions ,norms, manpower utilization statements and cost estimates. tuition-free.

4. marcus anthony bynum - February 26, 2012

authur found cash negotiation 15k- 18.000.000 exchange for min 5 euro investment to corporate bank foreign exchange as finders reward 5.00x 1.2718000000 to 6.36x 0.7862871521 total fee$ 3.36 reference no. ph763263.

5. marcus anthony bynum - April 5, 2012

expanded coverage and portdolio tools create and manage your own customized lists of stocks and mutual funds .future federal funding inset. heirs with christ the law and sin. across america weekly stock composite prices dividend paid not in hundreds sales total is given in full , currency rates and conversion calculator. family features some things are just better together; milk and cookies, bert and ernie, and breakfast with almonds. here are some favorite almond breakfast ideas to help start the day right. a healthy start flavor trends. now the second meal- a randomized crossover. the company initially used an unusual metric called adjusted consolidated segment operating subscribers. whether tart or sweet, cherries are considered an antioxidant super food. us housing starts in thousands.

6. marcus anthony bynum - April 6, 2012

producing millions of new graduates will require multiple stakeholders for success. individuals must become lifelong learners to keep their skill sets current.

marcus anthony bynum - April 13, 2012

i couldn’t stop, so i laid it down and just plowed through the crowded crosswalk in the least populated place i could find… germany internet freedom becomes big issue… corruption charges- no bailout yet norway massacre. young mother.. san leandro veteran, 92, has wwii items stolen a 92- year old navy vetran from san leandro who survived the attack on pearl harbor name….— michael mickey ganitch inside family and friends gather …. filmmaker plans …. bay area news san francisco

marcus anthony bynum - April 17, 2012

in general, business backed by the arrangement pay a pre- determined percentage of their revenue investments of 100 to 250,000 between bank loans, equity.

7. marcus anthony bynum - May 4, 2012

2 acre tracts $9,500 40 acre tract with live creek $ 135,000 .. increase to 70 acre tract 235,000 . commercial space ardmore ok 1,974 sf $650mo……


Leave a Reply

